Saturday, September 27, 2014

HABS PRESEASON: Successful and unsuccessful offensive-touches in the o-zone per-minute played

Total through 3 preseason games

Tracking puck-possession plays provides opportunities to compare players that are otherwise unavailable. One example of this is successful and unsuccessful puck-possession plays in the offensive-zone.

This graph communicates the number of successful and unsuccessful offensive-touches in the offensive-zone each Montreal Canadiens forward has produced through the first 3 games of the 2014-15 preseason. An offensive-touch is described as any play made while in possession of the puck in the offensive-zone. These plays include passes, dekes and shots. Sub-categories for each of these events include; shots from the slot, shots from outside of the slot, deflections, open-ice dekes, wall dekes, passes off of the rush, passes to the slot, cycle passes, and east/west passes.

Only even-strength events by forwards were included in this graph. That said, data exists for all players in all zones. It's also important to remember that this is an incredibly small sample size. As such, it is only meant to represent these players' performance through 3 games.


The higher the player's bubble appears, the more FAILED puck-possession plays they have produced in the offensive-zone per-minute of even-strength ice-time. The further to the right their bubble appears, the more SUCCESSFUL puck-possession plays they have produced. The larger their bubble appears, the higher their puck-possession success-rate =(successful plays / total plays).

Newcomer Jiri Sekac has produced more successful offensive-zone puck-possession plays per-minute played than any other Habs forward. Other forwards with high o-touch numbers include Manny Malhotra (high cycle pass numbers), Michael Bournival, Brendan Gallagher, Alex Galchenyuk, and Max Pacioretty.

Travis Moen has produced the fewest successful o-touches per-minute played. The most failed offensive-zone puck-possession plays have been contributed by Mike McCarron, Christian Thomas, Jiri Sekac, and Brendan Gallagher.

Pacioretty, Rene Bourque, and Travis Moen have produced the fewest failed o-touches in the o-zone per-minute played; Bourque and Pacioretty also have the top offensive-zone puck-possession success-rates.